FTA Welcomes New President and Board of Directors


FTA is pleased to announce the election of the new FTA President and Board of Directors during the FTA General Assembly 2016, which took place on 1 June in Brussels.

A total of 10 candidates put their name forward for this challenging and exciting role. FTA members present and those represented during the meeting were invited to vote on the appointment of 8 new members of the FTA Board of Directors. Following the election process, the 8 candidates with the highest number of votes automatically became part of the new FTA Board.

Furthermore, during its constituent meeting, the newly elected FTA Board of Directors voted on the appointment of the FTA President and Vice-President.

The renewed FTA Board of Directors for the coming term is composed of the following members:

Tino Zeiske, FTA President - Metro Group (Germany)
Herman Poelmann, FTA Vice-President - Pole Group (The Netherlands)
Frank Dassler, Adidas Group (Germany)
Christophe De Nays Candau, Carrefour (France)
Bernardo Cruza, Chair of BSCI Steering Committee - El Corte Inglés (Spain) *
Gerard Jansen, Parnassia Holding b.v. (The Netherlands)
Lea Rankinen, S Group (Finland)
Åke Weyler, Textilimportörerna (Sweden)
Pirjo Heiskanen, BSCI Steering Committee - Tuko Logistics (Finland) *
Alfred Jakob Beerli, Workfashion.com AG (Switzerland)

*Following their election in 2014, the two members of the BSCI Steering Committee will remain on the FTA Board until 2017.

I am honoured to take over the role as President of the Foreign Trade Association. I am looking forward to working with the new FTA Board of Directors and the FTA Secretariat, led by its Director General Christian Ewert, to make FTA excel in its new endeavours. I am committed to continue promoting the values of international trade and sustainable supply chains as I truly believe that long-term business success shall more and more depend on the ability to embed socially and environmentally responsible practices”, said Tino Zeiske, new FTA President.

It is with great pleasure that FTA welcomes the new FTA Board of Directors, who will play a vital role in guiding the development of the association as we look into the future to prepare FTA’s 2030 vision. I would also like to thank those members of the Board who served in the previous term for their commitment, and especially Ferry den Hoed, FTA’s President for the last 15 years, for his exceptional dedication. He has been a key figure in making FTA the leading and well respected business association it is today, promoting the interests of over 1,800 companies in Europe and internationally. I wish him all success in his new projects”, commented Christian Ewert, FTA Director General.

Add new comment